Christmas Tools

My daughter is dating a young man that joined us for Christmas for the first time this year. I asked her what he might like for Christmas. She said, “He needs some basic tools for his house he is settling into.” A smile immediately came to my face. That’s all I need to know – I speak that language. What joy to go tool shopping for a rookie homeowner! I immediately jumped in the car and headed to our nearest friendly lumberyard to do some tool shopping. While, I could have backed up a rental truck and loaded it up with tools one might need, I settled on a few basics: 25″ measuring tape, level, stud finder, and utility knife (all on sale I might add). I ran a cedar board through the planer, nestled the tools into a box cradled into the bed of fresh shavings, wrapped them, and settled them under the tree.The future looks bright to have someone on board that appreciates a good tool.

About wlindquist

I'm a career educator currently teaching pre-service teachers at Hamline University - Master of Arts in Teaching program. Interested in science education, inquiry-based science, and the intersection of science and literacy.
This entry was posted in Building, General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

