Professional Association

I’m a teacher. My academic interests include the preparation of teachers of elementary school science. That makes me unique within my direct professional colleagues at Hamline. We are united by teacher preparation, student-centered learning, and effective pedagogy, but science in the elementary school creates an exclusive neighborhood. To that extent, among many, I find great value in being part of a professional association of like minded educators. It gives me a chance to share stories that are commonly experienced, a chance to be part of the advancement of the field. I returned last Sunday from the National Science Teachers’ Association conference in Indianapolis. It was an important time to connect with the field. To explore with others future directions in science education.

I had a chance to hear a presentation about the new framework for science education from Harold Pratt, a key author. This important document establishes the pathway and direction for the development of a new set of standards that will shape the future of science education across the country. I had a chance to hear Betsy Rupp Fulwiler, author of “Writing in Science”, a nationally leading authority on the integration of science and writing. I went to a session by Doug Llewellyn because I have found his book “Inquire Within” so useful in my instruction. These are my people, my professional network of science educators across the country. I come away with new insight and new confidence. As a professional educator, it is important to become part of a larger organization of others committed to like-minded work.

About wlindquist

I'm a career educator currently teaching pre-service teachers at Hamline University - Master of Arts in Teaching program. Interested in science education, inquiry-based science, and the intersection of science and literacy.
This entry was posted in Becoming a science teacher, Science, The Art of Teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

