Resources of the City

I am not a stranger to big box marketing making frequent and regular trips to Menards. But I’m thrilled to have access to the rich variety of unique resources within my twin cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul. Yesterday, I picked up 5′ x 5′ sheets of 1/8″ Baltic birch at Youngblood Lumber Company in NE Minneapolis. Youngblood has been in business for over 100 years and is the only place in town I could find the 1/8″ plywood I need to line the curves of my teardrop trailer. Today I go to Siwek Lumber – also in NE Mpls – to buy the clear, knot free cedar for the exterior walls of the teardrop. Siwek has been in business since the early 1930s. I think exploration of some of the deep dark corners of the myriad collection of lumber piles may  hold some lumber of that vintage. In a few weeks I return to Discount Steel – once again in NE Mpls – to pick up the 5′ x 10′ aluminum sheets I need for the skin of the trailer. A relative newcomer to the community (1992), Discount Steel also provided the steel and fabrication for my chassis. In between, I make quick runs to my neighborhood Ace Hardware for a bag of popcorn and hardware to fill the gaps.

Each of these places is an adventure – providing unique and rich contributions to the development of my teardrop trailer. I am thrilled to live in the city and to have access to these wonderful businesses carrying goods well outside the purview of the big boxes.


Side note (but related) – tonight I catch the Green Line to Target Field for a Twins Game. And, last week, we were able to walk to the Minnesota State Fair. I love our neighborhood and so thankful for our lives in the city.


Another side note – (also related) – catch the details of my teardrop construction on the Teardrop page of “The Purple Crayon”

About wlindquist

I'm a career educator currently teaching pre-service teachers at Hamline University - Master of Arts in Teaching program. Interested in science education, inquiry-based science, and the intersection of science and literacy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

