Versatile Blogger Award

versitle-blogger-bwSo why do I write? in a blog format? What is it about the act of writing and putting my thinking out there knowing and expecting that someone may read it? With the hope, even, that someone does. Does it matter if they do? Blogging is an interesting act. I write from what interests me, set it aside overnight, then click “Publish” the next day. I check the WordPress stats page to see if anyone has, by chance, found their way to look at it. I can tell they brought it up on their device, but don’t know beyond that. Occasionally someone will comment. I’m pleasantly struck when I see people from around the world have stopped in for a look. It makes me wonder how they ever made their way to the “Purple Crayon.” All makes for a bit closer world.

On occasion, there is a nice connection with another blogger that sees the world with a similar lens. And today I share a thanks to Ally from “My Little Piece of Quiet”  for nominating my blog for the “Versatile Blog Award”. While not a Pulitzer, it does point to a shared link through the expressed written word. Perhaps that is the motivation behind writing – seeking the connection of like spirits. I thank you, Ally, for listing “The Purple Crayon” as one of your nominees.

Interestingly the February issue of “NSTA Reports” (National Science Teachers Association) came out. I had a shared contribution to an article by the editor on the role of learning through mistakes.

In keeping with the “rules” of this award…

Seven facts about me…

  • I find some of my greatest pleasure in creative acts of building…
  • …tangible products in my woodshop
  • …less tangible, but equally creative – a welcoming classroom learning environment
  • Excited to be a grandpa for the third time by the end of March
  • I’ve been enjoying viewing again all the Star Trek episodes – now on “Deep Space Nine”
  • I have a well-preserved orange that dates back to my first year of teaching (forgot it in my desk to be found only after it was well on its way to long term preservation)
  • Every year of marriage finds its way to become increasingly richer – approaching 38 years in a few weeks

Selected blogs worth reading

About wlindquist

I'm a career educator currently teaching pre-service teachers at Hamline University - Master of Arts in Teaching program. Interested in science education, inquiry-based science, and the intersection of science and literacy.
This entry was posted in award, General, Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Adele says:

    A thing I find interesting when reading a blog (actually THIS blog entry) is when I come across something that I have in common with someone that I thought was unique to me. How funny to, at first, like something because it is unique but, upon finding that you share it with someone, like it because it is not. You know what I noticed? I, too, have a well-preserved orange. It was forgotten in a backpack when I was pregnant with my now 17-almost-18-year-old-daughter. I went to the doc to get checked out before skiing into a cabin up North for a 5-day stay and she sent me home because I was technically in labor. Flat on my back for 5 weeks, then home with my new baby for another 12 weeks. Upon returning to work and my backpack, I found an orange….preserved. I kept it. I love to think about those days when it was drying and turning into what it is today…reminds me of all the other things that were going on. And now I read that you have a preserved orange, too! I wonder how large our club is.

    • wlindquist says:

      I agree. I had always my orange relic represented something unique – yet I find interesting the number of people that have shared with me their own story of well-preserved oranges after telling mine. Like you, this oddity seems to mark an important life event. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ally says:

    You’re very welcome, I always enjoy your perspective and writings 🙂

  3. mely282 says:

    Thank you SOO MUCH for nominating my blog!! Keep up the good work! 🙂

  4. wlindquist says:

    You’re welcome, Mely. I enjoy the connections made around the world – keep writing.

Leave a Reply

